2014 FIFA World Cup: Nine Other Countries Set For Play-offs

Par George MBELLA | Cameroon Tribune
YAOUNDE - 09-Sep-2013 - 11h51   3134                      
Cameroon’s victory yesterday rams it into a ring of ten countries to play the final qualifying round for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.
The group winners to play the African zone final round of the qualifiers for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil are now known. The Indomitable Lions of Cameroon yesterday, September 8, 2013 joined the fold after beating the Libyan national team, the “Knights of the Mediterranean,” by 1-0 at the Ahmadou Ahidjo Stadium in the capital city, Yaounde. Prior to this qualification, nine other teams had emerged as group winners. Cape Verde struck surprises on Saturday by beating Tunisia by 2-0 to emerge Group B winner and qualify while Burkina Faso pounded Gabon by 1-0 to also qualify as Group E leaders. The Super Eagles of Nigeria also beat Malawi 2-0 to top Group F. Senegal edged Uganda by 1-0 to earn top position in Group J. On Friday, Ghana also finished top of Group D. All seven teams join Algeria, Egypt and Côte d’Ivoire that had earlier qualified for the final round due to start after draws in Cairo, Egypt on September 16. The group winners will participate in the play-offs alongside the five best ranked teams in FIFA’s classification to get five countries from Africa to play the next FIFA World Cup tournament in Brazil. The 2014 FIFA World Cup is scheduled to take place from June 12 to July 13, 2014. A total of 32 teams will participate in the 20th edition of the popular international football tournament.
  • E-mail 0
  • Google+
  • Tweet
  • Partagez
Register   -   Forgot password
Dans la même Rubrique